Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 19, 2017, 02:43:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Visit the official Endian Community Mailinglist  HERE
13516 Posts in 4150 Topics by 5112 Members
Latest Member: jendMofe
Search:     Advanced search
+  EFW Support
|-+  Support
| |-+  EFW SMTP, HTTP, SIP, FTP Proxy Support
| | |-+  How to block facebook or other https websites
0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How to block facebook or other https websites  (Read 20612 times)
Dirk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« on: November 13, 2013, 03:57:34 AM »

Hi, I found very useful explanation to block some domains that have access both http and https.
I've been using for a few days Endian Firewall Community 3.0 BETA
To block access https (eg Facebook) have used the technique number 2, that "Create a Rule in DNS Proxy" and it works perfectly! But it is possible to exclude a computer / IP address from this block?
With the technique "Create a Rule in DNS Proxy" locks all clients on the network and I can not exclude anyone ... Is there a way to make it accessible https site (eg Facebook) only to a certain ip or my computer?

Thanks for your attention.
Logged
Dirk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2013, 04:32:53 AM »

 Grin
I solved the problem easily ... Anyone in distress may ask, is the instructions.

Greetings to all.
Logged
roemilf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2013, 01:21:25 AM »

Hi, How do you do it?
Logged
Dirk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2013, 01:36:25 AM »

It 's very simple. I created a policy that "denies access" to the domain. .Facebook.com. (Very important to the dot before the domain name)
I have set the proxy in non-transparent mode.
With this method, each site (http or https) is blocked by the rule because the restriction on the domain is NOT on the protocol.
The problem with Endian 3.0 and perhaps even the older versions do not provide the ability to block sites by keywords ... so it's TOTALLY USELESS THIS FIREWALL.
Logged
dda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 227


« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2013, 02:00:05 AM »

I am using 2.5 and it block domains easily within the firewall.  I downloaded 3.0 and it stopped my authentication from working and I had to go back to 2.5.
Logged
hinge
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 93


« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2013, 01:26:21 PM »

what if i want to have a time restriction? its the same setup or configure? Huh Huh Huh
Logged
dda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 227


« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2013, 07:18:13 AM »

Yes its done in the firewall config I currently block youtube during working hours because to manage bandwith for ip lines i use for long distance calls.
Logged
dda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 227


« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2013, 07:58:24 AM »

Blocking is done in the proxy area under access policy
Logged
dysmas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 28


« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2013, 01:24:49 PM »

Many useful information in this post (especially in the end) :

http://www.efwsupport.com/index.php/topic,525.msg9654.html#msg9654
Logged
francojaraba
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2016, 06:35:34 AM »

How did you do to allow some computers access to those web sites?
Logged
ufirst
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2017, 04:22:52 PM »

See this video, this show some tips too

Copy this link and past on your browser: goo.gl/SdDTwj
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Page created in 0.086 seconds with 18 queries.
Powered by SMF 1.1 RC2 | SMF © 2001-2005, Lewis Media Design by 7dana.com