Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Saturday 11 May 2024, 08:38:07 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Visit the official Endian Community Mailinglist  HERE
14247 Posts in 4376 Topics by 6495 Members
Latest Member: mrwar70
Search:     Advanced search
+  EFW Support
|-+  Support
| |-+  General Support
| | |-+  No access to GUI after fresh install
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: No access to GUI after fresh install  (Read 13671 times)
ericmet

« on: Saturday 16 June 2012, 12:36:38 pm »

Hello all, and thanks in advance for any support you can provide. I am a newb to Linux and Endian, so please forgive me in advance if I make a fool of myself. Embarrassed

I have installed Endian 2.5.1 tonight on an old Pentium 4 I had laying around, and everything seemed to go smoothly. But, after reboot, I can't seem to access the machine. I have an onboard NIC and a PCI NIC, and they're both active when I plug in a cable. I don't have a crossover cable, so what I did was connect a cable from my onboard NIC to the WAN port on my Gb switch, and a cable from my laptop to a LAN port on that switch. I have the laptop's NIC set to a static IP with the correct subnet mask and default gateway. When I try to ping the Endian machine's IP, it either times out or I get a "Destination host unreachable" message. I tried to access the GUI via a web browser, and it times out. I tried switching the cable on the Endian machine from the onboard NIC to the PCI NIC, and I get the same results. I tried connecting the laptop NIC to both NICs just to see if that worked, and it produced the same results. I checked the Endian machine's IP via ifconfig, and everything listed is correct, so I am at a loss as what to do next.

Please, if anyone can help me, I would greatly appreciate it. I searched the forums (and google) and tried everything I read that I thought could help, and nothing worked. Any ideas?  Huh
kashifmax